A Structured Framework

The SABRE assessment process follows a framework incorporating nine technical sections and 70 assessment issues. For each section there is an aim and each technical issue includes criteria and suitable metrics for demonstrating compliance.

The framework, based on long-established principles of international management systems and risk management, sets out the process for determining the approach to security at a facility. This includes:

  1. Establishing facility security requirements and understanding security risks.
  2. Developing a strategic plan for security.
  3. Designing an appropriate security system.
  4. Implementation of plans and, for existing facilities, managing change at a facility.

Innovation can be demonstrated in a range of ways spanning the thematic areas listed above, and all approved ‘innovations’ are published for the benefit of the wider industry.


3rd Party Certification

To determine whether a building or built infrastructure asset meets the requirements of SABRE certification, the facility must be assessed by a SABRE Registered Assessor.

The Assessor will work alongside the project team (new facilities) or building management (in-use facilities) and gather evidence in support of the applicable scheme criteria.

Successful assessment results in the award of a SABRE Rating and an LPCB certificate, which can be used to:

  • Communicate the security credentials of the facility to stakeholders.
  • Measure performance and target areas for improvement and investment.
  • Benchmark performance across a portfolio of assets.
  • Demonstrate that a project has delivered on contractual requirements.

The list of SABRE Registered Assessors can be found at www.redbooklive.com.

The technical requirements and assessment criteria for the SABRE scheme are detailed in Loss Prevention Standard (LPS) 2082 and BRE Global Scheme Document SD0229 respectively.

Click here to find out how to apply for SABRE certification

SABRE Ratings

It is not possible to guarantee that a facility will be secure all of the time. However, we can have increased confidence in a facility’s ability to provide security. SABRE recognises this, and rates facilities on a sliding scale between ‘Acceptable’ (1 Star) and ‘Outstanding’ (5 Stars). The higher the rating, the greater the level of assurance one can have in the approach to security risk management at a facility.

It is important to note that not all facilities need to strive for the highest possible SABRE Rating. In some cases, ‘Acceptable’ may be good enough.



BREEAM is the world’s leading sustainability assessment method for masterplanning projects, infrastructure and buildings. It recognises and reflects the value in higher performing assets across the built environment lifecycle, from new construction to in-use and refurbishment.

Through a robust and holistic sustainability assessment, BREEAM provides verified environmental, social and economic performance data for the built environment. This supports built environment ESG strategies throughout the building lifecycle at both asset and portfolio level. Through benchmarking and assurance, BREEAM is a tool that delivers a more sustainable built environment all around the world. For over 30 years BREEAM has successfully driven and reported on built environment sustainability in over 87 countries.

SABRE is recognised in BREEAM within the New Construction and In-Use schemes. Utilising SABRE will result in the award of credits within a BREEAM assessment, therefore contributing to a higher rating upon certification.

BREEAM UK New Construction 2018

Hea 06- Security

Within the HEA 06 Security credit issue a Suitably Qualified Security Specialist (SQSS) is required to carry out the Security Needs Assessment. SABRE Registered Professional’s are recognised within the scheme as a Suitably Qualified Security Specialist (SQSS).

In addition, SABRE can be used as a compliant risk-based security rating system which will award an exemplary level credit.


Learn more about BREEAM UK New Construction

BREEAM In-Use International V6

RSL 10- Security risk assessment

Within the RSL 10 Security risk assessment credit issue a competent person is required to carry out the security risk assessment. SABRE Registered Professional’s are recognised within the scheme as a competent person.

In addition to this, SABRE can be used a compliant risk-based security rating system which will award an exemplary level credit.


Learn more about BREEAM In-Use V6